Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

oil under stator cover? 30 May 2008 06:40 #216738

• slowman
  • slowman's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all... I recently picked up a '79 KZ1000 for $20. The bike is in very good condition cosmetically, and I'm just getting it ready for the road by doing some basic maintenance.

Spark plugs, wires, oil change... all that good stuff. :)

I took the cover off of the stator to investigate the internals and look everything over. About a quarter cup of oil spilled out. I've never worked on a motorcycle before since I've always been a car guy before I bought this bike, so I don't know if it supposed to be there or not.

If it is not, then I'm guessing that there is a crank seal of some sort behind the stator that is bad?

Thanks in advance! :)
1979 Kawasaki KZ1000 LTD

The only thing better than the sound of a carburettor opening is the sound of 4 carburettors opening simultaneously!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

oil under stator cover? 30 May 2008 07:32 #216747

• patmann
  • User
  • Thank you received: 6
That's normal. When you change oil and filter to the recommended fill amount, it will flow back in and you'll be fine.
And even if you just add oil, you'll be fine. OR oil fill find it's way back even if you don't add oil. So anyway you look at it your ok.
WElCOME aboard!
Want to double your money on the bike??;)
Pat
1974 900 Z1 modified to look like a LTD , some engine mods. But I still have all the original parts.
1977 1000 project bike
1972 H1 project bike
If pro is opposite of con, then what is the opposite of progress?

Last edit: by patmann.

oil under stator cover? 30 May 2008 07:40 #216749

• slowman
  • User
I've had 5 people offer to buy the bike off of me for anywhere between double my investment up to $600.