• Page:

TOPIC:

Any help on cleaning old connections and wires? 13 Apr 2008 23:26 #206288

• Six9GS
  • Six9GS's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey all,
Been a long time since I've been here. I got a 78 KZ650. I had an electrical malfunction that basically killed my bike. I've never been very happy at the wiring on the bike anyway, so, this is my excuse to go through the electrcal system and clean connections, replace what's necessary until I like it.
Anyway, 30 year old connectors and wiring can be a problem. I was an electronics technician for many years, so what I'm doing is well within my capabilities. However, in example, I found a broken wire splice in the harness that goes to the instrument light cluster. It was a real pain just to get solder to stick to it. Basically had to run a file on the wire end to mechanically clean the wire before I could get solder on it. WOW.
Anyway, I browsed on Z1 Enterprises site looking for some type of connector cleaner that was geared toward dirty old conncectors and wires. Didn't find anything. So, decide to come here and see how others deal with the old wires and connectors. Especially the female connectors that have a plastic cover over them. Kind of hard to get into them. I could just use steel wool to mechanically clean the male connectors. I'm thinking some 'mildly' corrosive cleaner must be around that the connectors could be dipped in. Perhaps a copper cleaner designed for kitchen pots.

Any and all help, suggestions, experience would be appreciated.

Terry!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any help on cleaning old connections and wires? 13 Apr 2008 23:38 #206289

• EddieBoy
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
i just use regular soldering flux...heat the wire then dip in the flux...reheat...then tin the wire.

also radio shack has electric contact cleaner that works good for corrosion.

Any help on cleaning old connections and wires? 13 Apr 2008 23:45 #206290