Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Periodic spark issue 12 Apr 2008 19:27 #205983

• osirus_4
  • osirus_4's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I have been working on my 1981 KZ750h for about a month now. I will be upfront and admit I am not a great mechanic. I have most of the issues with the bike resolved however I have one issue with the spark that I can't figure out. Sometimes the bike fires up and runs on all four cylinders with no issue but from time to time it only starts and runs on cylinder 2 and 3. If it starts up on all four cylinders it keeps running on four with no fail. If it starts on two sometimes revving the engine causes the other two to fire and sometimes it doesn't. I have another thread that addresses this to a point but I thought that i would start a thread that addresses only this. If anybody has seen something similar i would appreciate the input. The ignition coils have been tested at a shop and are good. The plugs are all new and gapped correctly. The IC igniter seems to work because the bike runs properly some of the time. The left pick-up coil seems to not work at times but this could be caused by many different things. The right pick-up coil always works. All of the connections have been cleaned and sanded or filed. Could this be a loose wire or a bad pick-up. It is troubling because it works some of the time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by osirus_4.

Periodic spark issue 14 Apr 2008 06:08 #206314

• BSKZ650
  • User
  • Thank you received: 14
if you are having issues with the left pick up coil, seems to me that is the place to start,, I dont know which cyl it controls but they both need to be working all the time.
also check the voltage to the coils at the coils,, make sure it is not weak
77 kz650, owned for over 25 years
77 ltd1000, current rider
76 kz900, just waiting
73 z1,, gonna restore this one
piglet, leggero harley davidson