• Page:

TOPIC:

Handlebar Switches... making the change 18 Mar 2008 21:24 #200886

• Wizid
  • Wizid's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,

I'm new to KZs and just got a KZ1000P in wonderful condition. I find the handlebar switches a bit buggering tho, to have a whole range of switches that don't do anything (any longer) as well as not being able to self-cancel my blinkers.

My last project was a '76 Yam XS500C which I'd bought new handlebar switches for - but never installed. So I now intend to install them on the KZ this weekend, so I can go back to riding without having to glance down nervously to make sure I've done what I was hoping to do.. no more fumbling to manually cancel the auto cancelling signals.

Right so here's what I've got on the bike, and on my desk:

My question is on what KZ if any did they use these switches, and if any between '81-'02? If not, anywhere to find the wire diagram for the KZ with these switches?

It would make the whole project a lot easier.

Thanks fellas.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Handlebar Switches... making the change 21 Mar 2008 03:28 #201321

• Wizid
  • User

Well I finally found the right diagrams, now I just gotta figure out the exact method to tie in the new switches to the old harness, and then go about doing it. Should be done by Sunday morning.

What amazes me is that the metal cased switches I got are just as well made as the Sparx switches I got for my '73 Triumph, and were $30 cheeper not to mention the savings on not having to get them from England... I'm telling ya, the next time I wire up an old Brit bike with updated switch gear I'm going to use these Jap switches. The value of them is mind numbing, I can see why so many have done it before...

granted I'll have to wait till I get a Brit bike that has either an electric leg, or turnsignals to actually do it.. but time will sort that.