• Page:

TOPIC:

Ignition fure blows after a while 26 Jun 2007 10:28 #152851

• CSRjunky
  • CSRjunky's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello,
I picked up a nice 82 CSR1000 with 2,550 miles on it! It was running fine until recently, now the ignition fuse blows after it runs 5 minutes or so, sometimes longer. Everything is stock as far as I know. I haven't torn anything apart yet because I'm really busy with a building project right now and I just don't have time. A friend said he had an older LTD1000 and had to replace the coils because they shorted when they warmed up. It sounds feasible because the fuse doesn't blow right away so the time delay indicates a high draw but not a short. (I've been an EE tech for 25 yrs so I have some experience how things like this work).
Anyone had similar problems?
thanks Guys!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ignition fure blows after a while 26 Jun 2007 13:25 #152898

• 79MKII
  • User
  • Love Them Kaws!
  • Thank you received: 43
I had the same problem on my '78 Z1-R and someone on this site was kind enough to point out the problem. In my case, the fuse connections needed cleaned. They looked totally clean but were really oxidized and building resistance. The fuse and wire would get hot and blow. Once I cleaned them with some scotchbrite the fuse never blew again.

Are your fuses buss-type of the newer blade-style??
The Kaw List:
Current: 79 KZ1000 A3 MKII, 78 KZ1000 A2, 78 KZ1000 Z1-R, 78 KZ650 SR, 80 KE175
Former: 03 KLX400SR, 99 ZRX1000, 82 KZ750 LTD, 80 KZ1000 A4 MKII, 80 KZ1000 LTD, 78 KZ1000 A2, 74 H-2 750 Triple, 78 KL250

Ignition fure blows after a while 26 Jun 2007 14:00 #152907

• CSRjunky
  • User