Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

UPDATED: Why won't it start? It did! Yay! 07 May 2007 19:01 #138047

• DrWhizBang
  • DrWhizBang's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Fortunately the bike held out long enough for me to pass my road test. Now it gets fussy on me...

I tried to start the bike yesterday with no luck. A bit surprising, since I had started it a few hours earlier. I futzed around with the idle screw a bit and gave up.

Today, I started trying to get it to go. I pulled a spark plug to check for fire, but found none. Ah - an ignition problem! I dug out my multimeter and may Clymer manual and started poking around. Not quite sure what I am supposed to be checking, since I am fairly new at this, but I started running some of the tests in the manual on whatever component I could see. This first thing I found that didn't look right was the regulator/rectifier - according to the book, positive on yellow and negative on black should give me less than 20 ohms, and vice versa should be more than 100 ohms. I'm getting no reading at all.

What I am not sure of, is am I reading this right? And would this be my problem?

Any ideas would be helpful. We're supposed to have nice weather for the next couple of days, and I'd much rather be riding than wrenching...

Post edited by: DrWhizBang, at: 2007/05/12 13:44
KZ650C2 w/810CC in Saint John, NB
-- a sleeper, methinks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Why won't it start? *groans* 07 May 2007 20:39 #138066

• clubhobo
  • User