Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Best oil to unstick a stuck ring? 16 Jul 2018 19:10 #787085

• One1
  • One1's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • KZ 750 FOUR
  • Thank you received: 3
I'm having starting issues with a bike that has sat for ten years. I didn't think 120psi is too low to keep it from starting, but it may be. The other cyl is 150. It has new coils, wires, plugs, battery, contacts, condenser, etc and has power and spark. I'm shooting directly into the carbs with start spray and it isn't catching. The spark is weak, but it's there. 

So, marvel mystery oil.... Or is there something better and more likely to unstick the ring before having to pull the head?

Side note: i have limited experience with valves. I saw them all moving through the full range, but didn't measure them. What's the best way to measure valves? I have the tools (micrometer, gap gauges, feeler gauges, etc) but usually use them on something else, not valves. I have set valves on my truck, but never had to work around the tiny head in my bikes. Is there room to do it by just taking off the cover and gas tank? 

Vulcan 750, KZ750, KLX 125, and many more......

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by One1.

Best oil to unstick a stuck ring? 16 Jul 2018 19:26 #787088

• Nessism
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 2675
120 psi is more than enough compression to run.  Below 100 is where you start to have issues.

There are free manual downloads available for your bike.  It's absolutely critical to adjust the valves per the manuals procedure or engine damage will occur.  

Last edit: by Nessism.

Best oil to unstick a stuck ring? 16 Jul 2018 19:26 #787089

• M_a_t_t
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 41
On my KZ1100 I could easily adjust the valves with the tank, valve cover and coils off. I imagine the KZ750 should be able to  as well.