Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Newbie's Project Gone Awry! Handlebar change problems. 11 May 2008 11:38 #212818

• MikePotter86
  • MikePotter86's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Two wheels move the soul.
  • Thank you received: 0
First-off, I'd like to apologize in advance, I am very new to working on my bike, and do not know much about it. I have a friend who usually helps out, but he is out of town for 3 weeks of prime riding season and I can't miss another beautiful day of riding like I did yesterday. I am a starving grad student with no money to spend on a real mechanic.

I have an 81 LTD 750 which had those horrible mini ape-hangers on it that I could not stand. A few weeks ago I posted a project forum to ask for advice on the change, and ended up getting a set of 7/8'' super-bike bars really cheap.

Yesterday I swapped the bars out, and it has become much more complicated than I expected, and I am looking for advice before ordering parts.

1. When I reassembled the bar, without turn signals, got it all ready to start up, and pulled the clutch in, the clutch cable snapped right where it connects to the clutch lever. Could the additional tension have been caused by the handlebar move? What is involved in replacing the clutch cable?

2. I have tried to reassemble the throttle and it will not seat correctly together around the bar, and there is a lot of tension on the throttle cable, which I just replaced 2 months ago.

3. I am looking for advice on new turn signals. Due to abnormally large master cylinder, the signals no longer fit on the bars like they did before, so I am thinking I will move them to the forks just below the headlight. Any recommendations on signals/stems that work for the forks and don't look out of place?

4. Due to the change of the layout of the bars, I can no longer see behind me with the original mirrors, I need something wider to see around myself. Any Ideas?

Thanks for the help guys! I appreciate it.