Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

New Spark Plugs --- no spark! 11 Mar 2017 19:30 #756455

• Bears62290
  • Bears62290's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
First off, I apologize if this has been covered, i did some searching and didnt find anything exactly like my problem.

Second, this is my first time owning a KZ or a bike of any kind for that matter, so this is all a learning experience for me.

I bought an 82 KZ 440 that was not running for $300. Ive done quite a lot of TLC work already --- new tires, float bowls, battery, had the carbs jetted out and new floats put in, took off the air box (saved it of course) and put on nicer looking individual air cleaners on each carb, ground off all the paint from the fuel tank, patched the pinholes, re-primered it, put a new petcock, tank cap, fuel line, and in line filter on it. Ive got it running however it was hard to get it to start, and when it did start, it ran very poorly or had a real high (3000 rpm) idle and would eventually die, Yes, i made sure the petcock was in the on position.

Now -- where things started getting screwy -- i noticed the ground wire was frayed pretty bad so i replaced that hoping it would help the starting issue. I also replaced the spark plugs which were black/burnt on th ends when i took the old ones out. I also found a salvaged igniton coil and wires on ebay for about 8 bucks so i bought that as well and threw it on there. Now i cant get the motor to start at all with either my old ignition coil or the new one! The starter motor sounds fine, but i cant get the engine to turn over. Im also noticing that there are 2 unpugged wires coming out of the main harness on the right hand side of the bike (if facing forward). One of them is yellow ith a thin black stripe, the other is white with a thin blue stripe. Ive looked all over the bike and cant find where they go to, and i cant remember ever unplugging them.