• Page:

TOPIC:

Early 70s KX900 - Ignition and wiring to start? 28 Mar 2015 09:23 #665516

• hbpaints
  • hbpaints's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello everyone,

Just found and acquired a early 70's KZ900 from a barn... I've built lots of race cars and such, but never worked on bikes, so im new to this. Going to make a bobber or drag bike with it but need advice or help getting it wired to run.

previous owner has all ignition wiring and coils disconnected and removed.

So... I was thinking of starting from scratch. The basics needed to get it running? Is there an aftermarket kit available or can I rig something else up?

any help getting this up and running is greatly appreciated.
1982 Kawasaki Spectre 1100
1983 Honda V65 Magna 1100
1987 Kawasaki 454 LTD
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Early 70s KX900 - Ignition and wiring to start? 28 Mar 2015 10:50 #665528

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
  • Thank you received: 2620
You can get a complete wiring loom from Z1enterprizes. Keep it stock or near stock. You won't be sorry.
Steve

Early 70s KX900 - Ignition and wiring to start? 28 Mar 2015 12:29 #665552

• Tyrell Corp
  • User
  • "You were made as well as we could make you"
  • Thank you received: 260
You bypass the wiring loom and fire it up using just about 6 wires, preferably with an inline fuse using any 12 volt battery,

battery - ignition box -ignition sensor-coils-plugs, (for a transistorised kawasaki or dyna system) and if you want to use the starter, jump leads: one from battery -ve to frame or motor ground , and one from battery + to starter motor main terminal.