Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Wiring help?? 18 Jan 2015 17:37 #659024

• Mach1buddy@gmail.com
  • Mach1buddy@gmail.com's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm new to the kz site and I'm looking for advise I have a 78 kz650 sr the bike is bear bones no lights or anything. just a stator reg./rect. coils and a tether. I use it for grass drags and ice drags. All ways ran good winter and summer I wanted to remove the battery so I ordered a battery eliminate kit "capacitor" from ebay wired it up and now I have no spark at the coils and those did before the change over.It know has spark on only one of the points when I kick it over. I'm wondering if I need to covert to 3 phase for more power?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Wiring help?? 19 Jan 2015 05:23 #659064

• martin_csr
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1621
I don't know, but maybe try searching KZR for capacitor or batteryless & note any replies by loudhvx.

Wiring help?? 19 Jan 2015 05:54 #659067

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828
Are you absolutely positive the engine is a 1978? Take a look at the images below. If your generator cover looks like the one with the 3 red circles it is a 1977. If that is the case, it will not run without a battery. The 2nd image is that of a 1978 generator cover. Ed

Attachment 1978GeneratorCover.jpg not found

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Attachments:

Wiring help?? 19 Jan 2015 06:21 #659069

• Mach1buddy@gmail.com
  • Mach1buddy@gmail.com's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
Yeah my cover matches the lower picture 1978

Wiring help?? 19 Jan 2015 08:31 #659081

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615