Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

coils and rust in the tank 27 Nov 2014 13:30 #654787

• Drummerskz900ltd
  • Drummerskz900ltd's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
ok so basically im new to these bikes like I said in my last thread. and im just starting on pulling her apart. I pulled the tank last night and the first thing I wanted to get on the list to order was coils or coil packs. not sure what you call them in this situation. I have a 76 and my vin says its the b model bike. not really sure what the difference in my bike and the other version. when I went to look for coils I found some with no cylinder number distinction on them and only one plug lead? when the ones on my bike have two plug leads??? any idea on where to get oem parts or should I go with something else?
on to my next question. as I said I drained and pulled the tank to find a little rust on the inside of the tank ( structurally tank is perfect ). how do I get the rust outta the tank and keep it from coming back. sorry to be to ignorant to all this guys I just wanna learn to di it right the first time. thanks
Stevo
76 kz 900 ltd

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

coils and rust in the tank 27 Nov 2014 14:13 #654793

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
  • Thank you received: 2598
A small amount of rust isn't a issue. Just get some in line bullet clear filters for it. You can put some bb's in and shake it around to loosen up the flaky stuff or coat it.
You want the exact type of coils. You could find some on eBay but don't wait. If they're bad file a claim immedatly. Get your money back. I don't know if enterprises have them for smaller KZ's but you might look there.
What makes you think the coils are at fault?
Steve

coils and rust in the tank 27 Nov 2014 16:23 #654798

• bountyhunter
  • User
  • Thank you received: 337