Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1980 KZ 440 will not start 07 Nov 2014 13:57 #653168

• jes.wade
  • jes.wade's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello all, I am new to motorcycles and I have been struggling a little bit with my bike.
A few of the problems I am running into:
- The battery will not stay charged, even with the new battery i put in.
- Has a new starter solenoid and I took the starter apart and gave it a thorough cleaning but still will not start.
- I have cleaned a lot of the connectors going to the ignition coil, except the ones in the headlight assembly, and ignition coil is still reading 8 on my mulit meter.
-when it was starting I usually had to spray some starting fluid to get it going.
- changed the spark plugs already as well.

Is there any general advice or places I should be concentrating on that anyone could help me with?
Any help would be much appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1980 KZ 440 will not start 07 Nov 2014 14:18 #653170

• azman857
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 111
Do you have a shop manual? Best tool in your box. I trust you have gas in the tank an tap turn to "ON". Are you getting gas to the carbs? Are the carbs clean? Properly tuned? Ignition timed properly?
You mentioned the battery not staying charged. Disconnect the positive wire at the battery. with the ignition switch in the "OFF" position, use a volt meter to see if there is current being drained off between the battery and the wire you just disconnected. You should get no reading. Check your wired for wear on the insulation . Ground wire for corrosion at both ends. Positive wire too. Keep us posted on your findings.
I don't have a plan and I'm sticken' to it! '77 KZ 650 / 750 GPz custom project in progress

1980 KZ 440 will not start 07 Nov 2014 14:25 #653171

• jes.wade
  • User