• Page:

TOPIC:

Regulator/Rectifier wiring help 27 Aug 2014 20:40 #645435

• Hazardous
  • Hazardous's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,

Ive been building my KZ650 for about 3 years now and am on the verge of finishing it (well making it rideable).
Its a 79 KZ650 C3.

I had some charging issues, which actual blew the battery to bits! I ordered a new battery and regulator/rectifier. When the unit turned up it was one for a CB750F with 8 Wires ( a 5 plug(3 yellow, 1 white, 1 black) and a 3 wire plug (red, green, black).

So me being my impateint self I want to try wire this ne reg in.
I know-
Red is +
Black is signal
Green is neg
and if I hook 2 Yellows up apparently it will work?

What about the Black and White wires on the 5 plug harness though? Do they need to be hooked up to something?

Help please!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Regulator/Rectifier wiring help 27 Aug 2014 20:45 #645437

• Hazardous
  • Hazardous's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
And can the 'signal wire' go directly to earth, thats where it seems to eventually lead on the wiring schematic?

Re:Re: Regulator/Rectifier wiring help 27 Aug 2014 21:18 #645438

• Tomolu5
  • User
  • Thank you received: 45
I would think a look at the cb's wiring diagram would be in order, and compare it to the kz's diagram. I know the reg/rec unit I just put on my bike is a universal unit, and the directions mentioned something about two white wires not being needed. I will see if I can find it when I get home.

I see that this is your first post, when you get a chance drop by the new members section and tell.us a little about yourself and your bike. It will give us a chance to properly welcome you and inflate our post count.
Mine:
04 Honda rebel 250(wifes)
04 GSXR 750(bolt on galore)
98 CBR 600F3(filter, pipe, adjustable cam sprokets, dyno tune)