• Page:

TOPIC:

Retrofitting front controls 16 Apr 2014 07:39 #629211

• Anfoking
  • Anfoking's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • 1981 ltd 750
  • Thank you received: 1
Hello, I have a 1981 ltd 750 that I am in the process of rebuilding. As I have the entire thing disassembled at the moment I would like to make a few modifications. The current front controls are looking quite crappy and I would like to update them to something a little bit different. I have found the left controls of a 2004 honda VT1100 C2 shadow and the right controls off a 1999 Yamaha V-star 650.

My main question is what do I need to look for in order to change these over. Would it be a relatively simple matter of changing the plugs to fit with the current electrical harness or is there something non-obvious I am missing. Besides ensuring they both are off the same bar size I can't think of major problems.

I appreciate the help and yes I am a noob and this is my first project bike. Thanks in advance.
1981 LTD750
2005 Suzuki M50

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Retrofitting front controls 16 Apr 2014 10:56 #629223

• MFolks
  • User
  • Thank you received: 540
I'd think you'll need the wiring diagrams from these two bikes & a good multimeter(with ohm, or continuity settings) to determine what wire does what, as I doubt it's going to be a simple "Plug and Play" operation. Make a new diagram, indicating what the wire colors do, for future troubleshooting.
1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

Retrofitting front controls 16 Apr 2014 11:06 #629225

• fastidiots
  • User
  • Thank you received: 4
first problem I see is that the 2004 honda shadow runs 1" bars and possibly 1" on the '99 v-star as well, verses to 7/8" bars on your kz. After that its mostly a matter of matching wires to thier proper counterparts and rigging up a harness plug.
82 KZ1000 J
76 KZ750 B1