Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Please help diagnosing my 1981 GPZ550 project 20 Apr 2015 12:44 #668899

• PanShovelMike
  • PanShovelMike's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello folks... new member here. I recently picked up a 1981 GPZ550 project (practically free, in a trade) and I could use a little help/info figuring out some things that have me confused. I've worked on lots of dirtbikes and Harleys since I was about 12 years old (I'm 32 now), so I know my way around motorcycles pretty well - BUT I have no experience with a GPZ like this one. The bike is in pretty rough shape but carbs are clean and it's mostly complete (minus airbox, seat, and misc other items). The guy I got the bike from knew pretty much nothing about it... he got it in non-running condition and sat on it for 5 years or so, and lost interest in the project. Being an unknown motorcycle the first thing I wanted to check was if the engine even spins. Since I didn't have a battery in it, I decided I would try to spin the engine manually by putting it on the centerstand and using the rear wheel with the bike in 1st gear (with sparkplugs removed). I could not get the wheel to turn in either direction. Removed rear caliper to be sure it wasn't causing resistance, so thats not the issue. Also removed the chain, and wheel spun freely with chain removed, so I ruled out bad rear wheel bearings or seisure on the axle as a cause. Shouldn't I be able to spin the motor in the way that I described? On every bike project I've messed with in the past I could check if the engine spun just like that - with the rear wheel suspended you can turn the motor in 1st gear using the rear wheel. I figured my basic test would work on the 550 just the same, but not getting results? Tried shifting it into 3rd to rule out a possible problem with 1st gear, but the bike won't go into 3rd. It will only shift into 1st or neutral. Tried spinning back wheel or pulling clutch in and out whi